Beauty

I bought this former laundromat in 2015 through a special program at the SBA for women like me. Thanks Obama.

As I pulled up on the first day, a girl fox, brown, cream, red and black fur moving in waves from the October wind, peed on the front steps while staring at me staring at her.

The cottontails came midmorning from the alley, so I planted bushes they could hide under. The redtails and their fledglings circle above. They nest two blocks away in what might be the biggest and oldest pine tree in Golden.

Summers are hotter, so I started putting out water in bowls in the shade of the native grasses I planted. Rabbits rest there, splayed out. They stopped going to the street gutter to drink and live longer now, I hope.

The bee bush and the milkweed I planted brought monarchs, finally, this summer. They’ve left for Mexico now, but there are Aphrodite Fritillaries and native bees too.

I start my mornings at my law firm with these animals and these insects, with my feet on this earth, not forgetting, remembering at least sometimes, to just watch the animals and to help them where I can.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Beauty

  1. Lorena Hitchcock

    Hi Marie, I received your two stories and I am looking forward to finding a moment when I can savor the experience. It’s a busy week.

    Thinking this Sunday is my day to relax and enjoy with my Sunday morning espresso on the back porch. Thanks for sending.

    Paul is retiring this year so more time to travel. SEE YOU SOON! xxoo Lorena

    >

  2. Alex Weiss

    HI Marie!

    Enjoyed the writings and pictures, thank you!

    Alex

  3. Thanks for reading Alex! Appreciate it!

Leave a comment